I Just Ate Before My Workout

Image

 

Should I eat before I go for my morning run? This is a question so many people ask me before the start their work out with me. The answer to this question is that you have to eat a food reach in fibre and energy in order to get the best out of your run. Although you may be tempted to skip the calories, the food you eat before you exercise will fuel your workout and maximize your efforts and results. I have been running for 4 years now and I can say I have exhausted all techniques out there and one that works for me is having a hot oat with 1 teaspoon of sugar before I go for my run.

You might ask why sugar, but I run at least 10km 4 times a week so I need some sort of fast energy booster before I start my morning run. However, if you are just a beginner in running you should be able to run 3km every day (3 times a week) with no sugar in your pre work out meal. Oats are very good pre work out meal cos it contains load of fibres.  The fibre in Oats gradually releases carbohydrates into your bloodstream which is what you need during your runs. Oats also contain B vitamins, which help convert carbohydrates into energy. The faster your body can convert Carbohydrates into energy, the longer you would enjoy that morning run,

 

Other good pre run meals out there are whole fibre breads with honey or Jam for more energy fuel. Bananas are what I call the natural work out bar. They are parked with easily digestible carbohydrates and potassium with helps in maintaining solid muscle function. You should note that our human body does not store potassium for a very long time, so I advise if you are going to hit the roads and you don’t have an Oat or whole fibre bread, a banana with Greek yoghurt should be fine.

 

Finally, make sure you absolutely avoid fatty and Oily foods before your workout. Fat leaves the stomach very slowly, which means you’ll feel full and sluggish and could cramp up easily.

Carlos also recommends having wheetabix before a work out. Wheetabix are just the same as Oats and contains the same nutrients as Oats and can fuel your body for a good run.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

